I invited some authors for interviews, and Ms. Salami is the first! I’ll tell you a little about one of her books, and the interview is listed below. I have others I am talking to, and hope to make this a weekly event! Hope you enjoy, and feel free to contact, follow, or buy books for any of the authors listed, their links will be listed below.

27864285

OK here goes:

Segilola Salami:
I am mom to the most beautiful little girl. I write bilingual Yoruba English children’s books. My latest book is called Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother. I host a podcast show called The Segilola Salami Show, it is set in a virtual cafe and is very light hearted. I have guest authors come on the show where we talk about publishing in general then review an indie book (almost like a book club). I am also a Self Publishing strategist. I help aspiring authors navigate the minefield that is self publishing.
My book (I have three):
Yetunde: The Life and Times of a Yoruba Girl in London
Blurb:
Yetunde is a series of stories that follows the every day life of 6 month old Yetunde as she’s narrated African folktales by her mom Iya Yetunde whilst growing up in London. Iya Yetunde also tries to improve her Yoruba speaking ability, so we see a nice mish mash of Yoruba and English. The folktales are of West African origin.
The other two are also educational about 
Yoruba, one teaches numbers in English and Yoruba. The other Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother features
Yetunde’s ode to her grandmother, and is a story to celebrate mothers.    
 Interview:
1. What made you decide to write children’s books?
I didn’t plan to become an author, it sort of just fell into my laps
2. Where do you get the inspiration for your stories from?

My lil girl and my mom. I write what I would like to read to my daughter and what I imagine I would say to her when she is older. I also write to reflect what I think I would say to my mom if I could get one more minute to spend with her. She’s late now 😦

3. What do you hope to teach people with your stories?
 With the two Yetunde books in general, I want readers to learn a little about the Yoruba culture. I want readers from other cultures to see how to balance belonging to two different cultures, especially if they don’t live in their country of origin. With my latest book, I want the adults readers to remember the power of a mother’s love and for younger readers to know that irrespective of how many times their mommies (and mommy figures) tell them off for being naughty, she absolutely loves them
4. What made you decide to self publish your books?
To be honest, I didn’t even think of traditional publishing, I had a finished book manuscript and the next logical thing to do seeing as i had recently found out about publishing directly to Amazon, was to upload my manuscript to Amazon
5. Who or what influence the books you write?

No one, not really . . . Actually, saying that, I read a book in my early teens called The Gods Are Not To Blame by Ola Rotimi. Till today, I find the story so profound that I hold on to the moral in the story. My interpretation of the story is that we should not run away from our problems no matter how bad they seem. So whilst I don’t intentionally set out to write like Ola Rotimi, I think my job as an author is achieved if 20 years from now, someone can hold onto the moral of one of my stories and use it to shape one aspect of their lives positively.

Links
Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother
Amazon Universal link myBook.to/yetundeanodetomymother
Connect with me


About the Author:
Mom first, author, host of The Segilola Salami Show and Self Publishing strategist (helping aspiring authors navigate the minefield that is self publishing)

