201054 Dragon’s Blood by Jane Yolen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Blurb: Dragons are trained to fight to the death, and two determined teens help free them in this spellbinding saga.

Training a dragon to be a fighting champion is the only way to freedom for fifteen-year-old Jakkin.


 3.5 but I really enjoyed the ending.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I picked it up because I remember enjoying Yolen’s work as a young child, and because I have always loved dragons, and a good fantasy tale. Since I read books of all ages, the fact that this one is intended for middle-grade didn’t both me. Or well it wouldn’t have, but considering that fact, some of the subject matter did. There were fairly strong references to both drug use, and prostitution, both in my opinion have no place in a middle-grade book (YA or NA maybe, especially if it’s aimed for older readers, say 17+ but I feel middle-grade books should not talk on these subjects so casually) That aside, I also didn’t really get into this book until the second half. While I loved how things turn out, I also guessed many, if not all, of the twists and surprises, but being a middle-grade book, that is excusable. Over all I did end up enjoying this book, and do plan to read the next, but might not recommend it as highly to younger children.

View all my reviews

