So I know I’m a few days late on this 😛 But I wanted to get back into the swing, (plus Thursday starts with T too XD)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and The Bookish

This weeks topic was: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read ( I added this year to make it more of a challenge for me, and to limit my list so it’s not endless XD Mostly the second reason!)

As before, the books are ordered only in the number I think of them. They are not ordered by favorite, most unique, or other and are in fact completely random in order! 

10. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – This book! Wow where to start? Well since this topic is the most unique, I’ll stick with that XD I love how this story starts out more like a medieval/middle eastern war story, but wait! Is that magic I hear, and are those jinn and wraiths I see? Yep! I love how the real world is seamlessly mixed with fantasy elements is this exciting tale!

9. A Million Junes by Emily Henry – This book! The whole thing was unique! (At least for me!) I have honestly never read anything remotely like this, and I loved that! A little bit romance, a dash of paranormal, and the threat of death? Yep!

8. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas – Ok, so I’ll just make this easy. SJ Maas is the QUEEN of foreshadowing, and I feel her style and characters, while similar to many fantasy stories, have that little something extra that drives the fans wild, so I’d have to say, after reading all of her current works, her stories are definitely unique.

7. Caraval by Stephanie Garber – This book blew my mind! I loved it! And the fact that it was strange, and dangerous made it doubly exciting! Definitely a unique story!

6. The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander – While I’ll admit this is a classic fantasy, there is something special about the Black Cauldron series that keeps me coming back. So for the fact that it stands out (and I wanted to mention it because it’s so good!) I’m saying it’s unique.

5. Golden Riders (Part 1) E.H. Everdene – This book, I need more! In parts it gave me chills, others it made me smile. I loved the story about sick children stepping into a magical painting. (Who wouldn’t love that?!)

4. Ruby in the Water by J. P. Sterling – This is another read from this year that was unlike anything I have ever read. The story is about a young man that has a debilitating illness that causes him to slip into a coma. While his family stays by his side, they recount memories from their past involving him. Mostly told by his mother, this is a story about the bond between a boy and his mother.

3. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco – I loved how this book takes a well known historical figure, and makes a crime novel of him! Mixing gruesome details of reality and fiction, this one surprised my by how much I enjoyed it!

2. Red Winter by Annette Marie – This book reminded me so much of InuYasha (anyone else? It was my first anime, AKA my first love XD) I loved how easy I pictured the story and how much I loved the characters. As it reads like a manga yet is an actual book, I’m sticking this in the unique group. (If you know more books like this, or any others mentioned, please share!)

1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – Where to start? The Darkling! While I have loved villains before, none have ever won me to quite so fully as the Darkling did. Bardugo has a way with villains, especially the tall, dark, and handsome sort!

Bouns!: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – OK so this story is your average rom/com, chick-lit right? Well not so much. While I normally grow bored and uninterested with ‘women’s fiction’ this one not only held my attention, but I couldn’t get enough! While I’m not sure what makes it unique, the fact that I enjoyed a romance novel, and more so that it actually made me laugh out loud in places, it definitely has something special going for it!

Feel free to share your thought on these, or other books you would add to the list! Also if you did this TTT feel free to share a link to your post below!

