16145983 Children of the Sea, Volume 5 by Daisuke Igarashi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Long-awaited conclusion to the critically acclaimed series! When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does.

After following Umi deep into the ocean, Ruka finds herself in an undersea cave where she hears a voice calling to her. She soon realizes it is the meteorite in her stomach, telling her the next step in her journey. The FINAL VOLUME of this majestic tale.

Such an interesting and satisfying ending! This story is unlike anything I have read before, and it’s so complex it’s amazing! While I didn’t love the art, it was beautiful and well-done in a folk-art sort of way, and fit perfectly with the story. I did love the colored art of the underwater scenes, through-out the series I was amazed by all the tiny details shown in the lighting and motion of the water when colored.

I enjoyed reading this one, and definitely recommend this series to anyone who likes myth/folk-lore type stories! It has such a traditional old-timey feel that I enjoyed, and while I’m glad to know how things turned out, I will miss the depth this story shared! Such a unique read!

View all my reviews

